Race Archive‎ > ‎

Lightweights vs. Columbia

Dartmouth and Columbia established their lightweight crew rivalry in 1984 at the freshman level, with Dartmouth winning, and in 1985 at the varsity level, with Columbia winning.  In 1987, the Subin Cup was established in honor or D. William Subin, Dartmouth '63 and Columbia Law '66.  Subin coxed the heavyweight varsity at Dartmouth and coached lightweights while studying law at Columbia. 

Watching the Races

  • Crews launch from the Dartmouth boathouse, at home in Hanover. 
  • The racing takes place on the racecourse on the Connecticut River, near the Chieftain Inn. 
  • Have tips on watching the races on our home course?  Email them to the webmaster