Race Archive‎ > ‎

Lightweights vs. Cornell

Dartmouth and Cornell have seen lightweight competition since 1959.  

The Baggaley Bowl  was introduced in 1970 and made retroactive to 1964. The trophy honors Bruce Baggaley, Dartmouth '63, who coached the Dartmouth lightweights in 1964.  The cup was presented by that crew. The race was rowed at the Henley distance (with the exception of in 1967 and 1969) until 1970, when it became a 2000 meter race. 

Cornell has won the cup 26 times and Dartmouth 15 times.  Pennsylvania participated in the 1959 race but posted no time. There was no race in 1960. Dartmouth last won in 2007. 

Watching the Races

  • Crews launch from the Friends of Dartmouth Rowing Boathouse.
  • Parents/Fans: Best place to watch the races is the finish line area, which is located north of the boathouse, up Route 10 North, at the Chieftain Inn.  There is parking at the Dartmouth Rugby Fieldhouse and a shuttle that will take spectators to the Chieftain Inn.  Click here for Directions.
  • Racing is sandwiched between women's morning and afternoon races:
    • 10:30 - 11:15:  LWT MEN: Dartmouth vs. Cornell  
  • Have tips on watching this race? Email them to the webmaster!