Race Archive‎ > ‎

Lightweights vs. Yale

The Durand Cup has been contested by Yale and Dartmouth lightweight varsity crews since 1958; although MIT entered the race in 1958 and was subsequently replaced by Rutgers in 1970, no crew besides Yale and Dartmouth are eligible to win the cup.  The cup is named in honor of Loyal Durand III, Yale's varsity lightweight coach from 1955 to 1957.  

Watching the Races

  • Crews launch from the Yale boathouse, on the Housatonic River. 
  • Have any tips on watching the race?  Email the webmaster!

Dartmouth/Yale Durand Cup 2007